A Values Statement For Our Wedding

Kelsey and I went to Massachusetts this weekend for two of our best friends’ wedding. I was the best man.

{Photo: A woman in a black dress with a blue accent, holding a bouquet and making a sour face with a hand on her hip}

{Photo: A woman in a black dress with a blue accent, holding a bouquet and making a sour face with a hand on her hip}

{Photo: a beautiful bride in a white dress, with her groom in a tux looking at her}

{Photo: a beautiful bride in a white dress, with her groom in a tux looking at her}

We had a lovely time. There are (literally) hundreds of pictures on Facebook.

As we just got engaged the week before, it felt nice to see another wedding in action as we are planning our own. We had such a lovely time at Lindsay and Gavin’s, so we took note of the things we enjoyed the most.

The best advice anyone has given me so far came on this trip. My mother, the event planning expert she is, asked Kelsey and I to write a values statement about our wedding so we can make sure we are prioritizing the right things as we continue to plan over the next few months to year.

Some examples my mom gave are:

– familial involvement

– good food

– flowers

Kelsey and I used this as an exercise on the plane ride home today. Though I want to keep the contents of our list to our families (at least for now), we had a great time brainstorming what we care about and what we envision our shared wedding to look like. I can tell you that, for all of our jokes about our “brand merge”…

…we want it to look as little like a business deal between Kelsey and my father as possible.

More importantly than the details of our nuptials, this process reminded me why I am marrying Kelsey in the first place- our values are so in line with each other and we really care about the same things. I can tell you that to Kelsey and I, the most important part of the wedding is the bond we make as a commitment to each other forever. The wedding is a kick-off party for the best part of our lives. Sure, the wedding is a celebration of our love, but we’re more focused on building the happily ever after part.

❤ ams

Leave a Reply

