April Showers (of Life Changes!)

I missed almost the entire month of April on here, but not due to lack of excitement in my life.

This month started out with a new, exciting position for me in health policy. It’s with a great organization and it’s the kind of job you go to knowing you’re making a difference. I really love it. If you know me IRL, check Facebook for more details.

Then, Kelsey and I signed a lease with another apartment building in our neighborhood. While we love our housemates and will miss having impromptu hangouts whenever, we’re really excited to be getting our own place, because…

{Photo: a man in a suit and top hat, down on one knee, placing a ring on a standing woman's hand. Woman is wearing an orange-pink dress with a matching flower in her hair}

{Photo: a man in a suit and top hat, down on one knee, placing a ring on a standing woman’s hand. Woman is wearing an orange-pink dress with a matching flower in her hair}

Kelsey and I got engaged! We are so excited to be spending the rest of our lives together.

Also we’ve been having lots of social media fun with this news:

Last I checked, my relationship status change had 400 “likes” on Facebook. Ohhhhh…the 21st century. At least we “embargoed” our engagement so we still got to hear the excited reactions from our families.

We’re back in Massachusetts for our friends’ wedding, so I finally had a minute to catch my breath with all of these big changes. I hope to be back to writing more about reproductive justice, feminism, and environmental health soon, but I may also write some updates about the process of getting married because, well, it’s exciting and there’s lots a feminist can talk about when it comes to the institution of marriage! But for today, I’m just happy to be spending my life with this guy.

{Photo: a woman and a man making silly smile faces}

{Photo: a woman and a man making silly smile faces}

❤ ams

Leave a Reply

