Date With DC: Liz Comes to Town!

My dear friend Liz is in town for a few days, and it’s nice to have an excuse to do tourist things! This is the first time I’ve hosted someone here, so I’ve been having a blast pretending I’m already a settled local. Yesterday was extra-special and I hit new territory for me, so I decided that it counts as a Date with DC.

We started our day at the National Museum of the American Indian, which most locals will tell you is the best food on the mall. After treating ourselves to a great lunch, we walked around the exhibits, which was very eye-opening. During my first trip to NMAI last August, I was embarrassed by how little I knew of our country’s history, so I strongly recommend visiting this museum if you get the chance.

Here’s the obligatory picture of owl artifacts because I’m in love with them.

{photo: an exhibition case with several artifacts depicting owls}

{photo: an exhibition case with several artifacts depicting owls}

We then went on a walk, which passed the Newseum. This museum costs about $20 to visit and we were on a budget, but you can see one of the coolest parts- a newspaper’s cover page from every state and several countries.

{Photo: the cover of the Times-Picayune, New Orleans' newspaper. The headline says "Roch of Ages"}

{Photo: the cover of the Times-Picayune, New Orleans’ newspaper. The headline says “Roch of Ages”}

We ended up near Chinatown, and after grabbing the obligatory Dunks that us Boston folks run on, went to the Reynolds Center, which houses the National Portrait Gallery and Smithsonian American Art Museum. Unless I happened to go on our DC trip when I was 9 (I don’t remember. Mom?), this was my first visit. If we’re friends in real life I’ll direct you over to the photo album where I uploaded tons of pictures, but here were a few of my highlights:

{Photo: an art project that depicts the Preamble of the  US Constitution on a series of license plates from the 50 states, in alphabetical order. Spelled weird and phonetically because they're on license plates, so it may take a minute for an onlooker to realize that it is the Preamble and read it all}

{Photo: an art project that depicts the Preamble of the US Constitution on a series of license plates from the 50 states, in alphabetical order. Spelled weird and phonetically because they’re on license plates, so it may take a minute for an onlooker to realize that it is the Preamble and read it all}

{photo: Kuniyoshi's painting entitled "Strong Woman and Child", which depicts a curvy woman in tight, athletic clothes holding hands with a young child}

{photo: Kuniyoshi’s painting entitled “Strong Woman and Child”, which depicts a curvy woman in tight, athletic clothes holding hands with a young child}

IMG_3558

{photo: Liz stands next to a portrait of Katharine Hepburn and behind four Oscar trophies in a glass case}

Liz was excited to see “the Oscars”.

There’s a beautiful covered courtyard in the middle of the Reynolds Center, which is definitely worth a few minutes break during a museum trip.

{photo: Alymay sits next to yellow flowers}

{photo: Alymay sits next to yellow flowers}

{photo: Liz sits next to the same flowers!}

{photo: Liz sits next to the same flowers!}

We headed back home, where we met up with some of our friends and walked to Fort Reno in Tenleytown for the sunset, where we enjoyed a picnic snack in the lovely sweater weather. I fell a little extra in love with DC yesterday, and I hope to keep our romance blossoming in spring.

❤ ams

 

Leave a Reply

