Dating DC on Valentine’s Day

I am super blessed to have a live-in relationship with my amazing partner. He’s the kind of guy that you can spend 10 minutes talking sarcastically like y’all actually agree with anything said in this article, knowing that he agrees it’s a load of baloney. That’s love. We spend our days and nights together, as I apply jobs while he writes from home, switching from work to fun mode at 6 or 7 PM every day, which is really too late to do a lot of things outside in the winter.

Because I’ve been in job-search frenzy mode until it’s dark outside, I haven’t gotten as many chances to explore this beautiful city as I would like. I decided that I deserve breaks sometimes, and I want to start going on a series of dates with DC, while I’m still in flexible “funemployment” mode. The first was yesterday. I started down the street from our apartment- at the zoo!

Naturally, I started with the Giant Pandas. Though Bao Bao was in a special room not viewable to the public, I got to hang out with mom, Mei Xiang.

{photo: giant panda curled up in a corner, looking adorable}

{photo: giant panda curled up in a corner}

Then, I visited the elephant house. I was the only person in the room for a while, so maybe I got to talk to the elephants without alarming other guests. I made sure to tell them that I loved them and I was sad that a political party I widely disagree with has used them as a mascot.

{photo: two elephants standing in gigantic doorways to the outside, facing the same direction.}

{photo: two elephants in profile standing in gigantic doorways to the outside, facing the same direction}

Perhaps the most special moment for me was getting up close with a burrowing owl, which was super adorable (with a glass wall between us, of course).

I had some feelings…

and they confused some of my friends…

I cleared up that it was actually a live owl that was behind a glass wall and being adorable.

They also have some barnyard animals at the zoo.

{photo: a black and white cow drinking from a bucket}

{photo: a black and white cow drinking from a bucket}

So cute. After an overpriced snack at the  Mane Grill, I ventured to say hi to some tigers.

{photo:

{photo: a Sumatran tiger cub sits in profile near a tree, you can see a larger tiger  in the back of the photo, and can just barely see the other cub}

After my zoo adventure, I decided to see something I hadn’t seen since moving to Washington, DC- 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, The White House.

On the walk over on G Street, I saw some great plaques memorializing people who went “The Extra Mile”. Rachel Carson has always been a hero of mine, so I snapped a photo.

{photo: a plaque on the ground memorializing Rachel Carson}

{photo: a plaque on the ground recognizing Rachel Carson’s work}

And the White House looked gorgeous as ever after our snow day on Thursday.

{Photo: the back of the White House in snow}

{Photo: the back of the White House with snow on the ground}

Someone was even there to wish President Obama a happy valentine’s day.

{photo: a woman wearing a red scarf and red gloves holds a large sign written in red on a white board with a red heart,  which says, "Happy Valentine's Day Mr. President, We <3 You"}

{photo: a woman wearing a red scarf and red gloves holds a large sign written in red on a white board with a red heart, which says, “Happy Valentine’s Day Mr. President, We  ❤ You.”}

Next, I headed to the Capitol Building so I could see the dome before the scheduled reconstruction.

{photo: the back of the US Capitol Building, with snow on the ground}

{photo: the back of the US Capitol Building, with snow on the ground}

At this point, my legs were pretty tired, so I headed back to our place, right when my partner was getting off work. We decided to celebrate Valentine’s Day in style with champagne (from New Mexico, of course) on our roof deck. He even wore a top hat.

{photo: a selfie of a woman in a badger hat leaning on a man in a top hat, both smiling at the camera}

{photo: a selfie of a woman in a badger hat leaning on a man in a top hat, both smiling at the camera}

It was a beautiful date with DC indeed. I’m taking suggestions for my next date with DC! Leave a comment if you have a good one.

❤ ams

Leave a Reply

