In Which I Dabble In Fashion Design

The day before I moved to DC, I had one last appointment with my eye doctor back in Massachusetts. Because I had a change in prescription and my eye insurance wasn’t going to cover new glasses, I decided to shop for new eyeglasses on ZenniOptical.com. I fell in love with these pretty instantly.

{photo: a woman with an orange, casual pair of glasses and a flower in her hair in front of the Union Cavalry and the UN flags}

{photo: a woman with an orange, casual pair of glasses and a flower in her hair in front of the Union Cavalry and the UN flags}

When I was entering my prescription, I noticed that there was an engraving feature. While I put my contact info on the inside of my more professional purchase, my partner and I joked that since I had a good deal of networking to do here in DC, I should put my Twitter handle (@alymaybe) on the outside. I knew that I had a backup pair coming if it looked ridiculous, so I took the plunge and ordered myself a pair of Twitter glasses.

{photo: view of a woman wearing glasses from the side with "@alymaybe" engraved on the arm of the glasses frame}

{photo: view of a woman wearing glasses from the side with “@alymaybe” engraved on the arm of the glasses frame}

They even match our bedsheets.

They even match my bedsheets.  {photo: an orange pair of glasses with @alymaybe engraved in pink on the arms facedown on orange, red, pink, and grey bedsheets}

{photo: an orange pair of glasses with @alymaybe engraved in pink on the arms facedown on orange, red, pink, and grey bedsheets}

Was my original intention for this to become a new trend? Not really. I more did it as a joke. But a few people have since said that they want to get Twitter handle glasses and there were some pretty great conversations about it on Twitter. And maybe if enough people do this, people can network better at conferences, tweetups, and happy hours.

{photo: a woman wearing the orange glasses, looking over her shoulder as she appears to be typing a blog post (in fact, this very blog post!)}

{photo: a woman wearing the orange glasses, looking over her shoulder as she appears to be typing a blog post (in fact, this very blog post!)}

Plus my partner (pictured below, wearing my glasses) said he would buy me dinner if someone wrote a trend piece about Twitter glasses.

{photo: a man laying in bed with the @alymaybe glasses on, wearing a matching orange shirt}

{photo: a man laying in bed with the @alymaybe glasses on, wearing a matching orange shirt}

And that’s as good a reason as any to try to make this take off.

❤ ams

Leave a Reply

