Condoms Aren’t Vegan?

This scene was the first thing to come to mind when I heard about casein in condoms. I apologize for the gendered language. 

{gif from Scott Pilgrim vs. The World: A young, vegan man named Todd says “Gelato Isn’t Vegan?” and the Vegan Police reply, “It’s Milk and Eggs, Bitch”}

A little-known safe sex fact is that many major brands of latex condoms use casein, a milk-based protein additive. Obviously, this makes some people with a vegan lifestyle very upset (full disclosure: links not vetted for accuracy, just wanted to demonstrate that folks were upset).

Beyond the objections of vegans, this can be problematic for some who may have a casein allergy. And it’s in the vagina. No fun.

Luckily, a few industry members have stepped in and pledged to not use casein in their latex condoms. Glyde and Sir Richard’s do not use casein in their manufacturing process. Many lubricants also claim to be vegan, including Sliquid, which is my personal favorite.

And as always, if you’re experiencing symptoms of an infection or an allergic reaction, it’s best to consult your friendly, local practitioner to make sure that it’s not something more serious.

Happy exploring!

-ams

Advertisements

One thought on “Condoms Aren’t Vegan?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s